9 Facts You Never Knew About Super Bowl History

Of course there’s always bragging rights involved with super bowl predictions and wins, but what about being able to sport some trivia?Super_Bowl_logo.svg_ Here’s nine questions to challenge your knowledge about the super bowl, but don’t fret if you don’t know where to start: everything comes back to four. See how:

1. How many players have won both the Heisman Trophy, designating the best college football player of the year and the Super Bowl Most Valuable Player award?

Four. Quarterback Roger Staubach won the Heisman Trophy at Navy in 1963 and the MVP award as a Dallas Cowboy in Superbowl VI. Quarterback Jim Plunkett won the Heisman at Stanford and went on to MVP for the Oakland Raiders in Superbowl XV. Marcus Allen was a running back for USC, when he won the Heisman. He was a Raiders MVP in Superbowl XVIII in 1984. Desmond Howard, as a special teams player – he returned punts and kickoffs – winning the Heisman at Michigan and the Superbowl XXX1 MVP in 1997, playing for the Green Bay Packers.

2. How many quarterbacks went to the big game and sat on the bench, only to return later as a starter for the same team?

Four. Jeff Hosteler was third string quarterback for the New York Giants in the championship game against the Denver Broncos and started in the Giants’  20-19 upset victory over the Buffalo Bills.

Steve Young was Superbowl XXIX MVP when the San Francisco 49ers pounded the San Diego Chargers. But in Superbowl XIV, he watch Joe Montana earn that same award in a 55-10 thrashing of the Denver Broncos.

Rodger Staubach led the Dallas Cowboy effort in 1972 in Super Bowl VI. Previously, he watched Craig Morton steer the Cowboys to a loss in Super Bowl V.

Johnny Unitas played in both Super Bowl III and V, the first a losing effort against Joe Namath and the N.Y. Jets, and the second a winning effort  in 1971 against the Dallas Cowboys.

3. The number of NFL coaches with the most Super Bowl losses is an infamous list. 

There are four coaches with that distinction Minnesota coach Bud Grant, Don Shula coaching for Baltimore and Miami, Marc Levy of the Buffalo Bills and Denver and Atlanta coach Dan Reeves. And how many losses did they each rack up? That’s right: Four.

4. How many receivers are tied for the most receptions in a game? 

Four. Dan Ross as a Cincinnati Bengal, Jerry Rice with San Francisco, Deion Branch with New England and Wes Welker with New England – all tied with a record 11 receptions in the big game.

5. What team do you want your home team to play in the season opener and why?That would be the Philadelphia Eagles, of course. And the reason: for four seasons in a row each of the teams that won the Super Bowl (from 2010 and 2013) played the Eagles for their first game of the year. This odd feat was managed by the New Orleans Saints, the Green Bay Packers, the New York Giants and the Baltimore Ravens.

All of them won the opener, except the Ravens, who lost by a point before becoming dominant for the rest of the year.

6. Which team has won the Super Bowl in four different decades?

The New York Giants have the honors here, winning at the end of the 1986, 1990, 2007 and 2011 seasons.

7. Which team has ignoble distiction of lossing the Super Bowl in four different decades?

The Patriots lost at the end of the 1985, 1996, 2007 and 2011 seasons.

8. The United States Football League was active for three seasons in the early 1980s. How many New York Giants played in that league, then ended up on the squad that won Superbowl XXI against the Denver Broncos?

Four. Those players are Chris Godfrey, Bart Oates, Maurice Carthon and Sean Landeta, in succession, a guard, a center, a running back and a punter.

9. How many quarterbacks started in the Super Bowl, then later played for the New York Jets.

Four, obviously. The Jets have a habit of looking for field leaders with experience taking their teams to the big game. In succession, they hired included Boomer Esiason, Neil O’Donnell, Tony Eason and Bret Favre, who played in the Super Bowl, respectively, for the Bengals in 1989, the Patriots in 1986, the Steelers in 1996, and the Packers in 1996 and 1997.